Luján Joins First-Ever Hispanic-Serving Institutions Senate Caucus

Washington, D.C. – As part of Hispanic Heritage Month, U.S. Senator Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.), a member of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus and an alumnus of a Hispanic-Serving Institution, joined the first-ever Senate Hispanic-Serving Institutions (HSI) Caucus for the 117th Congress. Earlier this month, Senator Luján marked the beginning of Hispanic Heritage Month and co-sponsored a resolution to designate the week beginning September 13, 2021, as HSI Week. 

The HSI Caucus aims to educate Members of Congress about the contributions and importance of allocating adequate resources to the 569 Hispanic-Serving Institutions in 185 congressional districts in 28 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. U.S. Senators Alex Padilla (D-Calif.) and Bob Menendez (D-N.J.) will serve as Co-Chairs.

“As a proud graduate of New Mexico Highlands University, I know just how crucial our Hispanic-Serving Institutions are for thousands of New Mexico students. I’m proud to be joining the first-ever HSI Caucus as America continues to celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month, and I will leverage my membership in this caucus to deliver more resources for students, staff, and teachers’ success,” said Luján.

New Mexico is home to 24 HSIs:

  • Central New Mexico Community College
  • Clovis Community College
  • Eastern New Mexico University – Roswell
  • Eastern New Mexico University – Ruidoso
  • Eastern New Mexico University – Main Campus
  • Luna Community College
  • Mesalands Community College
  • New Mexico Highlands University
  • New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
  • New Mexico Junior College
  • New Mexico Military Institute
  • New Mexico State University – Main Campus
  • New Mexico State University – Alamogordo
  • New Mexico State University – Carlsbad
  • New Mexico State University – Grants
  • New Mexico State University – Dona Ana
  • Northern New Mexico College
  • Santa Fe Community College
  • The University of New Mexico – Main Campus
  • The University of New Mexico – Los Alamos
  • The University of New Mexico – Taos
  • The University of New Mexico – Valencia County
  • University of the Southwest
  • Western New Mexico University



Filter & Sort Results

Date Range
Date Range
Sort Results