Luján Announces Nominations for U.S. Service Academies

Washington, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.), announced student nominations from the State of New Mexico to enter the United States Service Academies.

“New Mexico has a rich history of service in all branches of our military. I’m honored to further that tradition by nominating some of New Mexico’s best and brightest to our United States Service Academies,” said Senator Luján. “Through their diligence and dedication, each of these students have demonstrated a tremendous commitment to our state and our nation, and I know they will continue to make New Mexico proud.”

Senator Luján’s 2021 Service Academy nominees include:

U.S. Military Academy – West Point, NY

Wyatt Chapman – Aztec – San Juan College High School

Camden Cox – Rio Communities – NM Military Academy

Steven Craig – West Point – James O’Neill High School

Lauren Cruz – Rio Rancho – V. Sue Cleveland High School

Thomas Fotter – Albuquerque – La Cueva High School

Zachary Neel – Albuquerque – St. Puis X High School

Maksymilian Olszowka – Albuquerque – NM Military Institute

Nathan Ortiz – Las Cruces – Organ Mountain High School

Guillermo Paul – Farmington – San Juan College High School

Aubrey Rice – Rio Rancho – Corrales International School

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy – Kings Point, NY

Roger Aguiar – Albuquerque – Sandia High School

Gavin Filip – Rio Rancho – The ASK Academy

Michael Gray – Albuquerque – Albuquerque Institute for Mathematics and Science

Lance Miller – El Prado – NM Military Institute

Natasha Sun – Albuquerque – Albuquerque Academy

Benjamin Williams – Rio Rancho – The ASK Academy

U.S. Naval Academy – Annapolis, MD

Diego Aragon – Mora – Mora High School

Diego Garcia – Albuquerque – Volcano Vista High School

Naithan Gurule – Los Lunas – Los Lunas High School

Annika Irvine – Albuquerque – Axiom Christian Classical Academy

Khristin Lovato – Serafina – NM Military Institute

Lee McDonald – Clovis – Tivy High School, AR

Henry Mitchell – Albuquerque – Albuquerque Academy

Thomas Oldham – White Rock – Los Alamos High School

Mario Sumali – Albuquerque – La Cueva High School

Kelly Wetteland – Los Alamos – Los Alamos High School

U.S. Air Force Academy – Colorado Springs, CO

Trevor Anderson – Albuquerque – La Cueva High School

Caden Box – Albuquerque – La Cueva High School

Alex Chang – Las Cruces – Centennial High School

Sarah Fischer – Rio Rancho – V. Sue Cleveland High School

Naomi Lisko – Gallup – Home School

Margaret Matthews – Albuquerque – La Cueva High School

Mari McClain-Yu – Albuquerque – Early College Academy

Maximus Passeno – Los Lunas – Valencia High School

Sara Perez – Albuquerque – Albuquerque Academy

Luke Vaughn – Albuquerque – Volcano Vista High School

Interviews took place in early Fall. Senator Luján’s Service Academy Selection Board considered all the applications from the young New Mexicans interested in attending the U.S. Military Academy, U.S. Naval Academy, U.S. Air Force Academy, or the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy.

Academy nominees submit an application that includes a personal statement, resume, letters of reference, academic transcripts, and standardized test scores. If nominated by Senator Luján, applicants must meet the individual admission requirements for each academy. Students may be nominated for more than one service academy. The academies make the final decision on who will receive an appointment of admission.

Selection to U.S. Service Academies is among the most competitive and rigorous in the country; regardless of the number of qualified applicants each Member of Congress nominates, only a select few are accepted by the service academies each year. Those selected will enter the academies in June 2022.



Filter & Sort Results

Date Range
Date Range
Sort Results