N.M. Delegation Announces President’s Approval Of State’s Request To Expand Federal Assistance Eligibilities For Colfax, Mora, San Miguel Counties

WASHINGTON (June 9, 2022) – U.S. Senators Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.) and Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.) and U.S. Representatives Teresa Leger Fernández (D-N.M.), Melanie Stansbury (D-N.M.), and Yvette Herrell (R-N.M.) announced that President Joe Biden has approved a request to expand federal assistance eligibilities for Colfax, Mora, and San Miguel Counties in the wake of severe wildfires.

The State of New Mexico requested that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) immediately authorize federal funding for Category C-G damages in the Colfax, Mora, and San Miguel counties. The entire New Mexico Congressional delegation sent a letter to President Biden this week urging the administration to approve the request.

President Biden previously approved a Major Disaster Declaration that opened up access to Public Assistance and Individual Assistance funds from FEMA. This new approval will expand assistance to cover the following types of FEMA assistance:

  • Category C: Roads and bridges
  • Category D: Water control facilities
  • Category E: Public buildings and contents
  • Category F: Public utilities
  • Category G: Parks, recreational, and other facilities

New Mexico’s Congressional delegation is also calling on the Biden administration to waive the 25% non-federal cost share requirement for federal assistance.


Filter & Sort Results

Date Range
Date Range
Sort Results